Embroidery & Embellishment

Embroidery and embellishment have long been used not only as a form of art but as a tool of education.

Girls  learned their letters and numbers while creating “samplers” of many embroidery stitches honing their sewing skill as well as their mind.

Ancient robes were sometimes embellished with jewels, stones and precious metals by surrounding them with fine stitchery in order to attach them to a base of sturdy fabric that could then be worn by the owner who not only looked fancy but held his wealth closely for security.

9 thoughts on “Embroidery & Embellishment

  1. Great post! I did embroidery on pillow cases as a young girl. It was my mother’s way of teaching us and I still have a couple of those cases – thin now, though. Glad we figured out the problem with linking – this is awesome.

    Leslie
    abcw team

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am glad too Leslie, I was super busy and must have pasted the wrong one…ugh. Thanks for the help, I was freaking out a little bit!

      Like

  2. What an interesting post. I’ve seen some of those amazing samplers that girls made. What a treasure they are. Embellishments are what set the ordinary apart from the extraordinary. Thank you for stopping in at Cranberry Morning!

    Like

  3. in my early years at school i learned that indeed…. wonderful memories you pull back in my head 😉

    Wonderful entry and choice for this weeks letter.

    Have a nice ABC-day / – week
    ♫ M el ☺ d y ♫ (abc-w-team)

    Like

  4. This is a wonderful piece. I did cross-stitch for years and years until I burned out…and my eyes started to let me down. I love Tom’s comment about the cook in the middle. So funny. Have you ever restored a little child’s Singer like mine. I would love it if you knew what to do. It needs some work on it.

    Like

    1. Hi Genie, I have never worked on any of the child size machines but I am sure you could give it a tune up yourself. It is a matter of a good cleaning and brushing while taken apart and very light lube with singer sewing machine oil on the gears and cogs while putting it back together.
      I deleted your email from the public post for safety sake but if I ever run across info specific to child size Singer maintenance I will let you know.

      Like

Comments are closed.